Top Ten Best Love Songs of All Time? I beg to differ.

Standard

This week, a local radio station was talking about Valentine’s Day and mentioned a new poll about the Top 10 best love songs of all time.  Let’s discuss, shall we?

The top 10 love songs of all time were:

10. Let’s Get It On, by Marvin Gaye.  Don’t get me wrong – Marvin Gaye is the man. And this is a great song. But it is not a song about romance. It’s about sex. Romance is about the warm fuzzies, and I’m sorry, but having a man say to me, “Let’s get it on” to me does not make me feel warm and fuzzy.

9. Everything I Do by Bryan Adams. It’s a nice song. But the top ten ever? I don’t know about that.

8. I Wanna Know What Love Is by Foreigner. This song came out in 1984. I was 16 in 1984, so it pretty much goes without saying that I love this big haired power ballad. But somehow I see it as a love song, but not necessarily and romantic song (don’t ask me to explain that distinction because I can’t. Just accept that I’m a little crazy). And like the last song, I don’t know that it fits in the top 10 of all time.

7. Crazy by Patsy Cline. I love this song. I am a big fan of old country. I’m OK with this one being on the list. It’s a simple, lovely, romantic song, without the need for overblown lyrics & an overpowering band. And it was written by Willie Nelson, so thumbs up!

6. I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing by Aerosmith. I like this song well enough, but Steven Tyler makes me throw up in my mouth a little. Also, it makes me think of that movie and I hate end-of-the-world movies, so no. I know this is my problem, but this is also my blog, so I’m taking it off the list, dammit!

5. How Deep Is Your Love by the Bee Gees. OK, I am starting to wonder who the hell is voting on this list. Because disco? There is disco on this list? And I will readily admit that I grew up in this era, loved this song, loved the Bee Gees, and most definitely loved me some Barry Gibb. But, come on! This song has no business on the top love songs of all time.

4. You Are So Beautiful by Joe Cocker. This one stays.

3. When A Man Loves A Woman by Percy Sledge. So does this one.

2. Unchained Melody – The Righteous Brothers. And this – we’re on a roll now.

And the number one romantic song of all time is…

1. I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston. I have to say, when they asked what we thought the number one song would be, this was my first guess. I personally prefer the original Dolly Parton version, but I like this one too and I definitely think it belongs on the list.

But there were quite a few songs that weren’t on the list that I would have put there. Like Endless Love. I mean, MY GOD –who didn’t weep all over Jordache jeans over this song (and movie)? Just us overly dramatic junior high girls who spent hours on end listening to it and practicing every harmony? OK, then. Alright, how about He Stopped Loving Her Today? This song never fails to bring a tear to my eye. What? Yeah, I know he’s dead, but HE DIED STILL LOVING HER, DAMMIT! He had underlined in red, every single I love you, for God’s sake! OK, fine, whatever. And what about Shameless by Garth Brooks (yes, I know it’s originally Billy Joel, but I like Garth’s version better. Of course, it was my wedding song, so maybe I’m biased. But here are a few more that I would put on there: Up Where We Belong, You’re the First, My Last, My Everything, If, Tupelo Honey, Longer, Love Me Tender, Here and Now, Just Like Starting Over, You Send Me, Unbreak My Heart, Me and Bobby McGee, Annie’s Song, Wonderful Tonight, Just the Way You Are, The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, Your Song (Also a wedding song).

As I was looking for links to these songs, I came across another list of the top love songs, and it included Escape (The Pina Colada Song). WTF? It’s a song about cheating! I mean, sure – he ends up with his “own lovely lady” in the end, but only because she was planning on cheating, too! Ahhh…romance. Of course, this same list also included Brand New Key, so who the hell knows what the list-writer was thinking

What do YOU think the best love song of all time is? Did it make this list?

About sugarmag

Forty-sdjhfkjsdhfkjsdh year old mom of 2 - a 18 year old boy and a 11 year old girl. I love them very much, but they drive me crazy. I'm married and work full-time. I'm not sure which of these is the most exhausting, but probably the husband. I'm opinionated. I'm outspoken. I'm loud. I'm an over-sharer. I think Tom Cruise is a jackass. I like to say jackass. I like to swear, period. Fuckers. I love to read. I struggle with my weight. I love my job. I dress my pets up and ridicule them regularly. I am not afraid to cut my hair and I don't understand people who are. I hate getting old. I love to laugh. Make me laugh, OK?

2 responses »

  1. To me, For Cryin’ Out Loud, by Meat Loaf on Bat Out of Hell, is the most powerful love song I know. And I had that played at my wedding reception. Unfortunately, that marriage never lived up to the song.

Leave a Reply

