Random Crap

Standard

The girl has been asking to do something with her hair for a while now – cut it, highlight it, etc. but we haven’t gotten around to it for some reason. OK, not true. The reasons are as follows: highlighting it – I was just no ready to start this up, cutting it –she has super fine hair and I know from experience that cutting it all off will be a mistake. So I have been putting her off for a while to make sure she really wants to do it. And then she decided she wants some color in her hair – a bright pink streak or tips and that was something I could get on board with. So tomorrow, we’re heading to my best friend’s salon to have it done. And when I told her I got her an appointment, she asked if I was going to be getting my hair colored too, because – and I quote – “there are a LOT of whites in there.” She is responsible for at least 50% of them.

***************************************************************

I watched Bully this weekend, and oh man, what a heart-wrencher. I have written about this movie before and after seeing it, I believe even more strongly that kids should be seeing it. We all know bullying happens. Schools know it happens. Too many schools do nothing about it. A lot of school pay lip service to doing something – they have rallies and guest speakers and they post signs all over the place about no-bully zones. But when it does happen, they do nothing (or they don’t do enough). Or they talking-head their way out of doing anything effective. Some of the adults in this film should be ashamed of themselves. “Kids will be kids”? Fuck that noise. And asking a child who is the victim of bullying if he can’t “try to get along?”  These are the people who are supposed to be protecting our kids. Sadly, many bullies are being raised by bullies, so how can you make it stop? Until we come up with a way to make the parents of bullies give a shit, it won’t. Start hitting the parents of repeat offenders a hefty fine, and maybe they’ll finally take their kids to task. Sure – it might sound drastic, but kids are dying. When 10- and 11-year olds are committing suicide, it’s time for drastic measures. (and how sad is it that there were enough stories – of 10 and 11 year olds alone, that I couldn’t even begin to link to them all?)

***************************************************************

Someone on facebook: You post a lot of gay rights stuff. People are going to think you’re gay.

Me: So?

***************************************************************

I am currently reading Anthropology of an American Girl and so far I love it. It may have been a long time since I was a teenager, but I remember it clearly and so does the author of this book. Even if the rest of the book sucked (it doesn’t), this passage alone won me over:

Boys will be boys, that’s what people say. No one ever mentions how girls have to be something other than themselves altogether. We are expected to stifle the same feelings that boys are encouraged to express. We are to use gossip as a means of policing ourselves. This way those who do succumb to the lure of sex but are not damaged by it are damaged instead by peer malice. We are to remain untied in cruelty, ignorance, and aversion. We are to starve the flesh from our bones, penalizing ourselves for advances from men that we are powerless to prevent. We are to make false promises, the resist the attentions solicited. Basically we are to become expert liars.

So accurate. The book was set in the 70’s, but 40 years later, it’s still relevant. Which is sad.

About sugarmag

Forty-sdjhfkjsdhfkjsdh year old mom of 2 - a 18 year old boy and a 11 year old girl. I love them very much, but they drive me crazy. I'm married and work full-time. I'm not sure which of these is the most exhausting, but probably the husband. I'm opinionated. I'm outspoken. I'm loud. I'm an over-sharer. I think Tom Cruise is a jackass. I like to say jackass. I like to swear, period. Fuckers. I love to read. I struggle with my weight. I love my job. I dress my pets up and ridicule them regularly. I am not afraid to cut my hair and I don't understand people who are. I hate getting old. I love to laugh. Make me laugh, OK?

Leave a Reply

