So many assholes, so little time

Standard

It’s weird, sometimes when I neglect this blog, it’s not because I don’t have anything to talk about. In fact, usually, when I have a lot to say is when I don’t say it – particularly when I am all riled up about some assholery. I get mad and then I get all furiously tongue-tied and I end up not writing anything. This past week, so many assholes made me mad that I don’t even know where to start. I have quite a few things to rant about, and dammit, I am going to rant. So today, let’s talk about one of those things, why don’t we?

I saw an article about another celebrity (or that’s what they tell me – he’s an MMA fighter, which – to me – is like saying, he’s very famous, he makes shoelaces in the basement of a wrench factory”). Anyway, this guy was talking about gay marriage, and while he proclaimed to support gay marriage (or at least not care about who wanted to marry whom), he went on to bring u the old “where do you draw the line?” argument. He said:

I’m only asking a question. My next question is, should siblings be allowed to marry siblings? My point is, where do you draw the line? I personally don’t care who you marry but I also am smart enough to know that it opens a gateway to men/women trying to marry young kids, siblings marrying each other and people having multiple husbands and wives. You have to think all of these things are okay otherwise your stopping them from being happy as well which is hypocrisy. Equality doesn’t stop with gay marriage, it just starts with it… my question to you is, why is it okay for gays to marry and your gonna turn around and tell the guy he can’t marry the lil girl next door or the teacher she cant marry the lil boy in her class? Siblings, animals, etc.

Sadly, he’s not the first with this mentality. Jeremy Irons said pretty much the same thing in a recent interview. And you can hear lots of random idiots spewing the same “logic.” It’s the “gateway drug” argument that our parents and teachers used on us when we were growing up: “Don’t smoke pot. It’s not dangerous and it won’t hurt you, but it’s a gateway drug. Get high even once, and you’re doomed to be smoking crack & snorting Drano within weeks! REEFER MADNESS!”

OK, so maybe it’s not exactly the same, but it’s the same premise. And, it’s worse, if you ask me. The gateway drug argument does have some merit. But the “gateway sin” argument, as I’ve come to think of it, is total bullshit. “What’s next? Marrying parents & sibling?” No – that’s called incest. “What’s next? Marrying your dog?” Um…how sick are you to even think of that shit? “What’s next? Polygamy?” Maybe. Who cares? Consenting adult humans can make their own choices about marriage. If I don’t want to be polygamous, I won’t (though I could use some sister-wives – this house is a mess).

To anyone who feels uses this “gateway sin/where do you draw the line” argument to hide your bigotry: STOP IT! Just stop with all the pretending that you’re only worried about all the innocent children and dogs of the world. We can see right through you. All of you who equate homosexuality with pedophilia. Those who ask “where do you draw the line?” I’ll tell you where you draw the line: At child molestation and bestiality!

See? That wasn’t hard now, was it? Any idiot with a brain and a smidgen of compassion should be able to see it, but still you keep going straight from gay marriage to dog-fucking. CUT IT OUT!

John Stewart said it best:

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-april-3-2013/red-brand-redemption

About sugarmag

Forty-sdjhfkjsdhfkjsdh year old mom of 2 - a 18 year old boy and a 11 year old girl. I love them very much, but they drive me crazy. I'm married and work full-time. I'm not sure which of these is the most exhausting, but probably the husband. I'm opinionated. I'm outspoken. I'm loud. I'm an over-sharer. I think Tom Cruise is a jackass. I like to say jackass. I like to swear, period. Fuckers. I love to read. I struggle with my weight. I love my job. I dress my pets up and ridicule them regularly. I am not afraid to cut my hair and I don't understand people who are. I hate getting old. I love to laugh. Make me laugh, OK?

4 responses »

  1. I always want to take a slippery slope argument BACK UP THE SLOPE. Like, if allowing gays to marry makes it okay to marry animals and children, then I guess we shouldn’t have allowed men and women to marry, since that’s leading to gay marriage. NO MARRIAGE FOR ANYONE, then!

  2. “Those who ask “where do you draw the line?” I’ll tell you where you draw the line: At child molestation and bestiality!” I’m just going to go ahead and use that if I need to.

    I like swistle’s answer too. NO MARRIAGE! (Although I do like being married, personally.)

  3. Yeah, that slippery slope argument baffles me. Is a child a consenting adult who can legally enter into a contract? No? Then no, he can’t get married! Same with an animal, or your toaster. Frankly, I don’t care if people want to enter into polygamous marriages. I can see that legally it could get tricky in terms of end of life decisions, etc, but it’s doable. And I’m not sure I really care if siblings want to get married, either. They’re adults who are legally allowed to enter into a contract, so what’s the big? So yes, the slippery slope argument is a false logic.

Leave a Reply

