Whiny Little Bitches? Really?

Standard

Facebook has long been filled with funny photos and jokes and someecards. Some are cute. Some are funny. Some are meant to be funny, but miss the mark a little. Some are only funny if you lean one way or another politically. In my experience, the best way to deal with that last kind is to either like and/or comment, if you agree with it, and ignore it if you don’t. It is not worth your time to start up a flame war on facebook. That said, I recently saw one of these that was beyond just being the opposite of my political views, it was downright offensive. I saw it once in the past, but recently a relative (an in-law, actually) posted it again, and another relative (in-law) “liked” it and commented “That’s funny!”

I can’t help but to be disappointed in the one who posted it, though not surprised, and even more disappointed in the one who commented, since I really expected more from him. Why am I so bothered by this, when my policy is to simply ignore this stuff, you ask? I’ll tell you – no actually, I’ll show you. Here is the offending image:

assholes

I have talked before about gun control, but to recap – I am not anti-gun. I believe in restriction, in background checks (which – if they had been in effect – could have saved countless lives over the years). And yes – I agree with the statement in this post – no one really needs an AR-15.

But you know what? This isn’t about gun control. This is about kindness – or the lack thereof. This is about the poor, poor taste of this image and the people who post it and think it’s funny. You can believe what you want about guns. You can believe that guns of all kinds are OK. You can believe that every man, woman and child should own one. You can believe that immediately upon emerging from the birth canal, that every US citizen should be issued their own AR-15. You can believe that every backyard should have a giant shed filled with WMDs for all I care. You are entitled to those beliefs. I don’t agree with them and I will use my voice and my vote to hopefully keep those things from coming true. I will not fight you – I will fight the laws surrounding this issue. You have the right to your beliefs.

But you also have a responsibility. You have a responsibility as a human being to at least attempt some compassion. This image not only fails at compassion, it’s downright unkind and ugly.  Just as you have the right to believe that AR-15s are just peachy, other people – particularly the victims of violence via AR-15 have the right to not be called “whiny little bitches” for their beliefs. Especially when their beliefs may have prevented an AR-15 from taking the lives of their loved ones.

Gun violence is not a joke, and your treating as such is insulting and small-minded. It belittles the loss of so many. So maybe before you make jokes like this again, you should put a face on the “whiny little bitches.” Here’s a good start. If you still think it’s funny after this, then I’m not mad at you anymore. I’m just sorry for you:

Charlotte Bacon, 6

bacon

Daniel Barden, 7

barden

Rachel D’Avino, 29

davino

Olivia Engel, 6

engel

Josephine Gay, 7

gay

Dylan Hockley, 6

hockley

Dawn Lafferty Hochsprung, 47

hochsprung

Madeleine F. Hsu, 6

hsu

Catherine V. Hubbard, 6

hubbard

Chase Kowalski, 7

kowalski

Nancy Lanza, 52

lanza

Jesse Lewis, 6

lewis

Ana Marquez-Greene, 6

marquez

James Mattioli, 6

mattioli

Grace McDonnell, 7

mcdonnell

Anne Marie Murphy, 52

murphy

Emilie Parker, 6

parker

Jack Pinto, 6

pinto

Noah Pozner, 6

pozner

Caroline Previdi, 6

previdi

Jessica Rekos, 6

rekos

Avielle Richman, 6

richman

Lauren Rousseau, 30

rousseau

Mary Sherlach, 56

sherlach

Victoria Soto, 27

soto

Benjamin Wheeler, 6

wheeler

Allison N. Wyatt, 6

wyatt

Photos from http://www.cnn.com/interactive/2012/12/us/sandy-hook-victims/index.html

About sugarmag

Forty-sdjhfkjsdhfkjsdh year old mom of 2 - a 18 year old boy and a 11 year old girl. I love them very much, but they drive me crazy. I'm married and work full-time. I'm not sure which of these is the most exhausting, but probably the husband. I'm opinionated. I'm outspoken. I'm loud. I'm an over-sharer. I think Tom Cruise is a jackass. I like to say jackass. I like to swear, period. Fuckers. I love to read. I struggle with my weight. I love my job. I dress my pets up and ridicule them regularly. I am not afraid to cut my hair and I don't understand people who are. I hate getting old. I love to laugh. Make me laugh, OK?

One response »

  1. I agree, this image is in poor taste. Guns have always scared the buh-geezus outta me. I know my son is exposed to guns when he visits with his father, and I feel absolutely helpless. I’ve talked to him about guns, including the recent incident of the four-year-old child who accidentally shot his father. ( http://www.cnn.com/2013/06/08/us/arizona-man-shot ) While it’s a gruesome things, I think we shouldn’t shield our children from knowing the truth about how dangerous guns really are.

    P.S. The new blog looks great!

Leave a Reply

